Not my forte.

I have yet to hit the gym today ๐Ÿ™‚ I feel like a rebel! I woke up at 5:00 for spin and was not feeling it. If I don’t go in the morning I usually don’t end up going at all, but no worries there is a spin class tonight calling my name. I won’t let you down ๐Ÿ˜‰

I go through phases where I am completely enamored with one particular food. It used to be cottage cheese. I ate that stuff like twice a day everyday. No joke. I have moved on to Greek Yogurt. Fage in particular. This wouldn’t be much of a problem if it wasn’t so expensive. Sigh. I have already eaten almost my entire container which I bought just yesterday. There are only two servings in a 4 dollar container.

B-Fast:

-1 cup Fage, 1/2 Banana, 1/2 Apple, Chia Seeds

-As a side: 1 Tbsp Better n’ Peanut Butter (because you can never go wrong with Pb).

Don’t let the name fool you. This stuff is absolutely in no way comparable to real peanut butter, but it also turns out eating fat even in a healthy form isn’t the best for weight loss.

I am thinking of making chia pudding in the morning. Chia seeds are full of omega fatty acids. Woot woot!ย  Besides, can you ever go wrong with dessert for breakfast? Ya, that’s what I thought ๐Ÿ˜‰

We had some zucchini and lemons starting to rot in the fridge so I new I needed to use them up. At the time muffins seemed like a rock solid idea…

Healthy attempts to bake never work out well for me. Give me the butter, cream, sugar, and everything is fabulous, but trying not to clog my arteries tends to be a daunting and almost impossible task. Why is this so?

My OOey GOOey Vegan Zucchini Lemon Muffins

Are they edible?

-yes.

Would I recommend eating them?

-well no, not really.

This recipe needs a lot of tweaking. I am going to post what I did and maybe you can give me some pointers? Other than going to culinary school ๐Ÿ™‚ They taste good if you can get past the awkward gooeyness. And in their defense they’re low in calories roughly 136 per muffin! Score.

I started off using grinding up 2 tbsp of Flax Seeds.

I then added 5 tbsp. of water. This makes a flax “egg”. It’s a sort of gel.

For the dry ingredients I mixed 1 cup white flour, 1/2 cup wheat, 1/2 cup oat flour, 1 tbsp. baking powder, and 1 tsp. sea salt.

The wet ingredients included 1/2 cup almond milk, juice from 2 lemons, 1 tbsp. molasses, 1/4 cup agave, 1/2 cup apple sauce, and 2 grated zucchinis.

I gently mixed the wet and dry ingredients together. I also added some raisins. The consistency seemed a-ok.

I baked them @ 350 for a long time probably close to 40 minutes.

The insides are just way too gooey.

I am thinking that I didn’t use enough flour and used too much zucchini.

Thoughts? Help??

After the small catastrophe I resorted to something familiar and easy. Cooking! Mhmm…so much better than baking.

Lunch time:

– Pacific Snapper cooked in lemon juice, cajun spice, and oregano. Scrumptious!

– Small mixed green salad ( our fridge is overflowing with this stuff)

– green beans, fennel, and almond cooked in lemon as well.

It was a winner in my book!

What is your biggest kitchen fail? Not all fails are bad, sometimes you even stumble on something better. I guess it is all just part of the process!

I wish you better luck in the kitchen than I had today.

-~Kristin

3 thoughts on “Not my forte.

  1. I have no idea if this would work, but how about trying to press the water out of the grated zuschini? Just grate them and then put them in mom’s spรคtzle press (or a potato ricer) and squeeze the water out. I’ve done that with grated potatoes before to make hash browns.

    Have fun at spin tonight!! Less than a week until I’m there!!!

    • Thanks for the suggestion ๐Ÿ™‚ Baking is just not so much my thing. It never really has been. sigh.
      I know, I am so excited. I hope you are feeling better though. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ That’s no fun at all!!!

  2. Ha, I hear you on the baking thing. My attempts at cooking generally turn out to be really good, while with baking it’s a fifty-fifty chance. (Or sixty-six-thirty-three…)

Leave a Reply

