I’ve got Deutschland on the brain.

Hi everyone! And if you have been sent here by Alexandria an extra special welcome!

I had boatloads of fun yesterday. I went to the gym in the morning and met up with Rikke. After HGG’s class we headed down to Old Folsom and went for a nice little walk. We stumbled upon this awesome waterfall.

Hanging out together is never complete without a trip to a grocery store. Somehow we ended up buying chocolate 😉  Rikke bought the bacon chocolate we found the other day at Whole Paycheck.

Coming from someone who doesn’t love bacon or a lot of animal products for that matter, it suprisingly wasn’t too bad.

I bought some German chocolate. Heavenly!

I came home and to my surpise

I found a mysterious package for me! I was so jazzed. I love getting random stuff. It makes me happy!

My sister’s German boyfriend ordered me this super neat book. It is divided up into sections such as arts and culture, being social, and politics. Basically it is a guide to do’s and dont’s while you are in Germany. Apparently excesive smiling is seen as weakmindedness. This may be a problem for me. Smiling is my go to expression when I don’t know what is going on which will basically be 90% of the time for the first few weeks until I get acclimated to the dialect.

Later in the evening I went to a BockBier Fest at the Sacramento Turn Verein. Imagine people running around in lederhosen and dirdnls carrying beer steins and big pretzels. It was a glorious sight. I got on the dance floor for a bit to join in on the fun. I have never seen so many adults in one place doing the chicken dance. HILARIOUS. We were also led in some more traditional dances.

I leave in 4 months which is crazy to think about. At times it seems like a lifetime, but other times I just want it to get here. I can’t contain my excitement.

I have been thinking a lot about what I am going to do when I return from Germany and so much is up in the air right now. Will I go to community college for two years? Will I apply to a University? Where will I be living? In an apartment? At home? Only time will tell, but I am ready to embrace all the opportunities. I am mostly just looking forward to my time abroad. This is a once in a lifetime opportunity.

I can’t wait to meet everyone in D.C.

I am off to go take a raw food workshop. Woohoo!

Until next time,

Kristin

 

2 thoughts on “I’ve got Deutschland on the brain.

Leave a Reply

