Blueberry Obsessed.

You’d think after I raided Whole Foods yesterday I would be satisfied with my share of blueberries.

See. I have enough Blueberry Muffin Larabars to last me the month week.

Today’s breakfast was inspired by an amazing combination.

this.

But if you compare our after products you would realize that I didn’t follow the recipe. Like whatsoever. 😉 I’m a rebel like that.

Here’s what’s in it:

1 cup flour

1 1/4 cup oats

a pinch of salt

a heaping tsp of baking powder

1 egg white

3/4 cup applesauce

2 tbsp agave

lemon zest

* juice from 1 lemon

*3 cups blueberries

* ingredients making up the center.

I split the wet ingredients in half. Half for the crust and half for the top. I cooked the bottom portion for roughly 15 minutes at 375°

Then I added the blueberries with the lemon juice.  I used frozen blueberries so I heated them first.

You can also add corn or potato starch if you want a more jelly like consistency.

Add the rest of the batter to the top and sprinkle some extra oats to cover the top. Pop it back in the oven for 20ish minutes.

Shabammm!  They’re really good. I will be making these again. I think by using healthier ingredients, aka no butter or refined sugar, I compromised on the aesthetics, but I can assure you the taste will rock your socks off.

I paired my bar with some banana topped Fage.

I hope everyone is having a good Saturday!

I snapped this while the bars were baking. Meet Alex’s pet bird, Fluffy.

Yep, that really is his name.

Here are some links of possible interest:

Rolling Hills Treadmill Workout

Meditation Tip of the Day

Calculate your Carbon Footprint

Things We Forget

What’s so Funny About German?

& Here’s a good song:

Lots of Love,

Kristin

2 thoughts on “Blueberry Obsessed.

  1. Okay, Im officially out of granolabars and your blueberry bars look freaking amazing :D:D:D:D!!!!!! But do they need to be eaten within a few days, you think? …. or could the replace my granolabars for this time?
    I’m sure i could eat them within a few days though (-;

    • Oh no! They are good 🙂 I can bring you one to try either tomorrow or Monday and if you like it I will make you an entire pan of them! 🙂 They’re good for probably at most 4 days and you’d have no problem eating it. I made like 8 bars and half of them are already gone 🙂

Leave a Reply

