An unshakable case of wanderlust

Hello friends,

I have a problem. I have been consumed by desire. I have spent the better part of the day perusing travel blogs and googling. I have had a million conversations in my head and imagined many scenarios. I have fallen back in love with traveling. It is sinfully calling my name. I know I should be thinking about college, a career, and life after Germany which is exactly where I get stuck every time.

I have a huge concern. Am I really going to want to come home after ten months abroad? After all of my adventures and the world at my fingertips will my lust be satisfied? I am highly doubtful. Maybe I will be over it, but more likely I will just be getting started.

Whenever I am home I fall into the same monotonous rut. This adventuring urge rears its ugly head every few months until I can get my mind onto something else.

This Battered Suitcase. I love, love, love her blog.

I want to go to the unknown. Experience foreign cultures, food, & sights. The idea is beyond intriguing .

How would I ever explain this fervor to my family? I have been drilled from the ripe age of 0 that college is the number one priority. Money is life. Taking time off is not an option, but what if it was? What if I could chase my dreams?

What does living at home have to offer me? Nothing. Nada. Zilch.

I am independent. Solo. I do my own thing as it is.

College will be there in a year. In two. In three. I don’t even know what I want to do. The knowledge you gain while abroad isn’t something you can learn in a classroom.

I always find myself returning to this traveling affair. There is so much to be seen, experiences to be had, people to meet, and worldliness to be gained.

Now how would I fund such an adventure?

Simple. When a strong enough ambition is there, there is always a way.

Some of the options:

-Work for a few months. save. save. save. sell everything.

-Work along the way. Especially if I live in anywhere in the E.U.

– Teach ESL for a few months in Asia or another country. It is fairly easy and inexpensive to gain my credentials.

– Go crazy with blogging. Put a lot of time and energy into it and gain some revenue like this guy.

When traveling in Asia the estimate is $50 a day. That is completely doable. Experiences are more valuable than any posession I could ever own. Hostels and couch surfing are a great way to do go too.

When would I have time to do something like this? After college, when I am in debt? After I buy a house? After my kids are all grown up? There is no time like the present.

What’s a wanderlust stricken girl to do?

Thank God I am going to Germany in August. I am so lucky. It is such an amazing step towards what I want to do.

Oh I was also thinking maybe I could go to college somewhere in Europe. perhaps??

Yours truly,

Kristin

p.s. I sincerely hope that CBYX will cure my lust for a few years, so I can finish college and save before I hit the road.

Here are some links:

Nomadic Matt

Positive World Travel
Anywhere There is an Airport
The World On a Toilet

This Battered Suitcase

🙂 I am obsessed.

Leave a Reply

