Sugar Induced Coma

 Life lessons I learned today:

1. Butter is not worth using in baked goods. Applesauce is more my style.

2. Refined sugar is gross.

3. My taste buds have changed and thank God for that!

4. Rikke is an awesome cooking buddy!

I am glad I had a baking fest today. It was a once in a lifetime thang and I don’t think it is something I will ever do again. At least not with these recipes anyway, but I do love being in the kitchen 🙂

I am currently still coming down from a sugar high. I think I’ll stick to endorphins highs from now on. They don’t leave you feeling gross and sick.

What shall I do with the leftovers I won’t be eating? Hmmmmm.

Sugar Cookies

Chocolate Mint Whoopie Pies

Mint Frosting

The completed creation. I can honestly say I won’t be going into the Whoopie Pie business anytime soon.

Mint Chocolate Marshmallow Oreo Cookies. This was a recipe we created from scratch throwing together leftover frosting and Oreos and it turned out pretty well.

Nom Nom Nom

Banana cupcakes w/ Cinnamon honey frosting. Obviously shown w/o frosting here. The texture was more dense than a regular cupcake, but since I am obsessed with banana’s I was ok with that. They were a bit to sweet for my liking though. I like my banana’s barely yellow when they aren’t too sweet.

These FAILED. S’more brownies. I was so excited for them. Oh well. The graham cracker crust cooked way to long and tasted weirddd.

Red Velvet Cupcakes. These were also interesting

Fun rice krispies!

Another batch of Oreo stuffed chocolate chip cookies. 🙂

Macaroons. These didn’t go so well either. The first batch were thrown out all together.

Who needs cooking school?

Oh I do, I do! Pick me!…please.

I resorted to something familiar and easy for dinner.

There was a lot of sugar and butter action going on today so I needed to have something a bit different for dinner. Savory was definitely the way to go. Brown rice, bean salad, and dill weed salmon. yum!

In all 12 sticks of better went into today recipes. Almost an entire bag a flour and far too much sugar. C’est la vie, right? I saw an opportunity to try out a bunch of recipes so I went for it with Rikke’s help!

I am sticking to applesauce, banana, and oats from now on. I love feeling good or at least not bad after eating them.

A few weeks ago I woke up to this. Alex made it 🙂 He has recently really gotten curious about God. There is Veggie Tale’s galore loaded on Netflix right now and he has reread his junior bible a bazillion times. It’s adorable.

Have a good Easter everyone. I am happy my older brother, Eric, is home and I have some fun plans for tomorrow.

Hugs,

Kristin

Leave a Reply

