Religion & Possessions

🙂

Today I had a green smoothie alongside my breakfast. It was delightful.

The weather is a bit windy today, but the sun is shining and spring is in full bloom. What is not to love?

I spent a large chunk of my morning slash afternoon at the lake reading.

I found a rad shelter.

I have been doing a lot of thinking lately trying to figure out what I believe. I know it is a lifelong process, but I feel really lost right now.  I feel like I am navigating my own path, one I haven’t ever known. The more I read, the more there is to love about God. I absolutely love the values taught by the church. A relationship with God can be such a positive aspect in your life. I see it firsthand. At the same time however I have a few reservations. I don’t agree with some of the teachings and I am struggling to get past this. I am very loving and open minded and see some of the ideas taught as limiting. I don’t know how to fit everything together and make sense of it. I don’t see religion as an all or nothing thing and I believe there are many paths to God, I just have to find the right one for me.

How can there not be more to this life?

The most important things in life are not things at all. They are family. They are memories. They are experiences. They are the things without a price tag.

I have realized how unattached I am to my “stuff”. Often when I clean my room I throw a lot away. It has no real meaning to me. My shoes, my clothes, my bed sheets what relevance does it have in the grand scheme of life?  Granted there are a few, which could be named on one hand, items I LOVE. I would be a bit sad if I lost these few things, but it would not be detrimental.

Everything I truly need comes from within.

Happiness. Strength. Optimism. Open-mindedness. Love. Good Character.

A trust in something greater.

Ask yourself what makes you truly happy? And I bet it isn’t stuff.

Peace & Hugs,

Kristin

2 thoughts on “Religion & Possessions

  1. Morning Kristin!
    Congratulations on winning the scholarship, I received it as well and it’s awesome to see people blogging about their experience so far. About your most recent blog, very beautiful landscape and quite an interesting book! I don’t know if your familiar with The Bible but in Romans 12:3 it says “God hath dealt to every man the measure of faith”. Saying that to every person He has instilled an equal measure of faith which gives us a desire to seek and pursue our Creator! Either a Psalm or Proverb says that our heart won’t find rest until we find God, which is absolutely true! I live in the gorgeous countryside which makes it even harder to deny that “there is something greater” as you said. But fortunately I don’t have to deny it, I know its true. I was completely healed from Lyme Disease and in church services dozens of people have been healed of cancer or other diseases. Its not His will for us to be sick, but sometime he uses illness as a vice to bring us closer to Him. Anyways, the website for the branch of church is here -> http://www.upci.org/. A quick point, I don’t call myself a Pentecostal or a Christian my belief in Jesus is about personal relationship (which you’ve already encountered yourself) and can’t have a label attached to it but it’s super important to belong to a church body with a pastor and all. Nevertheless, get back to me or see you at one of the departure meetings?

    God Bless,
    Genevieve!!

    • Hi!
      Congrats to you too! It’s very exciting. Thanks for sharing your story with me. I like hearing new perspectives and I am fascinated by the never ending ways God is worshiped and loved. I completely agree with seeking a personal relationship with Jesus. It is necessary for personal growth. I currently do attend a church I love every week and am very open to their teachings. There are just a few specifics I have difficulty wrapping my head around and I feel that has become a bit of a road block in my journey and growth. I believe all the organizations will all be meeting in Berlin at the end of the year. If you have a facebook you can connect with other people from your organization through the CBYX group. http://www.facebook.com/#!/home.php?sk=group_185251288186408
      Cheers,
      Kristin

Leave a Reply

